Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been very bad about updating this blog and I’ve lots of catching up to do. Let me start with a project I just finished. A local business owner asked me to re-upholster one of her chairs with a great fabric she was fortunate enough to find on sale. I did a lot of research beforehand starting with Amanda Brown‘s wonderful Upholstery Basics series on Design*Sponge and used a 1951 book titled Upholstering at Home by Page Parker and J.G. Fornia as my go-to reference as I worked. It was very satisfying to tear the chair down and then restore it using natural materials and hand sewing in place of metal hardware. I love fixing things on-the-fly and this project was filled with opportunities to make adjustments. Also, I am officially in love with my staple gun and air compressor. This was fun.

Before&After.Gail

