Tags

, , , , , , ,

When my daughter, Megan (Everything is Lekker), was home for a visit recently, we went to a local independent fabric store called Prairie Salvage & Surplus. It’s a tiny storefront surrounded by empty factories and open fields but it’s like the Tardis inside, only filled with the most amazing collection of discontinued fabrics, from cottons, silks, and velvets to upholstery weights. There is even a whole room of vinyls and Naugahyde. You never know what you might find. On a remnant table, Megs discovered four yards of a lovely light grey linen-weave cotton with narrow pink stripes for $8. She immediately envisioned a skirt and, once we got home, she drew me a picture: pockets (her one requirement) and an elastised waist dropped down about an inch to create gathers at the top. Then I got to work; a few hours later, she was able to model the result. She paired it with a J Crew chambray shirt and a pale pink patent leather belt; we were both very pleased with the way it turned out. It was a fun collaboration!

I got to do a little decorative painting when my friend, Maura, brought me a small vintage table that had been varnished, painted, varnished, and painted again. (It was kind of a mess but I forgot to take a ‘before’ picture.) While I stripped it, Maura picked out a pretty green semi-gloss for the body and a butter yellow for the contrast in the faux bois finish I applied to the top. I love the look of exaggerated wood grain and it’s a nice accent on this little table.

Then, serendipity. Maura mentioned how nice it would be to have a small lamp for the table so we went shopping in the house. I had an open-work metal base looking for something to do and a vintage shade in my studio that happened to fit perfectly. Maura picked out some fabric from my collection and I used it to cover the shade. The vintage floral is a great complement for the table and the striped couch it will find itself near. I love it when a plan comes together.

